Skip to content
TTE logoTYPINGTESTEXAM.COM
Courts & Judiciary

Delhi High Court Senior Personal Assistant & Personal Assistant Typing Test 2026

Prepare for Delhi High Court SPA and PA 2026: 40 WPM English typing, 10 minutes, 3% mistake limit, shorthand differences and source-based practice.

Delhi High Court uses the same Stage-I English typing requirement for its Senior Personal Assistant (SPA) and Personal Assistant (PA) Examination 2026. This combined guide helps candidates prepare for that shared typing stage while keeping the different shorthand standards clear. It is a preparation resource, not the recruitment application portal.

The High Court listed its vacancy notice on 5 September 2026. The linked official PDF is the authority for the requirements below. Passing a practice attempt here does not establish that you have qualified in the recruitment examination. Always read subsequent notices and the instructions supplied with your admit card.

Typing practice settings

Selected exam practice profile
LanguageEnglish
Duration10 minutes
Target40 WPM
Practice error limit3%
BackspaceUser selectable
HighlightUser selectable

Verified 2026 requirements: English, 40 WPM, 10 minutes, mistakes up to 3% of total words typed. Derived practice evaluation: existing normalized-character WPM and aligned mistake classification; the notice does not define the complete Stage-I scoring algorithm or backspace/highlight controls. User-selectable controls are training settings. This is not an official pass/fail decision.

Start Delhi HC SPA / PA 2026 Practice

Exam stages

Both posts follow four stages: Stage I English typing (qualifying), Stage II English shorthand, Stage III Main Descriptive Examination, and Stage IV interview. Only candidates qualifying the preceding stage proceed to the next. The final merit list combines marks from shorthand, the descriptive examination and interview; Stage-I typing is qualifying.

SPA shorthand: 110 WPM, a 550-word passage dictated in 5 minutes, followed by 45 minutes for computer transcription. PA shorthand: 100 WPM, a 500-word passage dictated in 5 minutes, followed by 45 minutes for computer transcription. No extra passage-reading time is provided. Each candidate gets two shorthand dictation/transcription tests, with the better result considered. This two-test provision concerns shorthand; do not assume it gives two typing attempts.

SPA shorthand carries 120 marks and permits up to 27.5 mistakes; PA shorthand carries 110 marks and permits up to 25 mistakes. These correspond to 5% of dictated words. The notice deducts four marks per full mistake and two per half mistake in shorthand. These deductions must not be transferred to Stage-I typing.

The descriptive paper lasts 120 minutes and carries 100 marks. It covers an essay, letter writing, grammar and comprehension, and translation between Hindi and English. The interview carries 15 marks. Refer to the PDF for category-specific qualifying standards and the complete selection conditions.

Typing rules

Stage I is a computer-based English typing test lasting ten minutes. The minimum typing speed is 40 words per minute. The notice says speed is calculated using characters with spaces, and permits mistakes up to 3% of the total words typed. These provisions are identical for SPA and PA.

The notification does not specify a fixed Stage-I typing passage length in this scheme. The 550-word and 500-word passages belong to shorthand. This practice profile therefore uses the existing duration-based passage builder rather than borrowing a shorthand passage length for typing. A longer practice session is clearly labelled extended practice and does not change the official ten-minute requirement.

How errors and speed are evaluated

The official mistake-percentage denominator is total words typed. As an arithmetic illustration only, if an evaluator counted 400 typed words, 3% would be 12 mistakes. That does not establish an official rounding rule for fractional limits. Follow any later evaluation instructions.

The site measures practice WPM as normalized typed characters, including spaces, divided by five and by elapsed minutes. This is its existing practice convention. The 2026 notice specifies characters with spaces but does not supply a complete software implementation or a Stage-I full/half mistake taxonomy. The site therefore retains a derived practice label and uses its existing alignment engine, with one unit per counted practice mistake and the typed-word denominator. Its mistake classification is not a claim to reproduce the court evaluator.

The practice target checks speed and the configured 3% practice error limit. It reports a practice target result, not an official recruitment pass or fail. Do not confuse shorthand marking deductions with typing evaluation.

Keyboard and test controls

Practise using a physical keyboard and the English layout you expect to use. The cited typing scheme does not settle backspace availability, live highlighting or every on-screen control. These are user-selectable practice settings here. Confirm the actual test controls from the authority instructions rather than treating a website setting as an official permission.

Paper-to-screen practice is available as an optional training exercise. Its availability does not imply that the 2026 court typing test uses paper source material.

Preparation strategy

Begin with a short diagnostic attempt to identify accuracy problems, then practise full ten-minute sessions so your pace remains steady to the end. Read ahead by a few words without rushing. Work on capital letters, punctuation, figures and spacing in ordinary English passages as well as administrative prose.

A personal training target around 45–50 WPM can provide a useful margin above 40 WPM, provided accuracy remains consistent. This is a suggested preparation buffer, not an additional official requirement or a guarantee of qualification. If errors rise sharply, reduce pace and correct the recurring pattern before attempting faster runs.

Use your result review to separate omissions, substitutions and spacing problems. Repeat a difficult sentence slowly, then test the same skill on unfamiliar text. Memorizing a single paragraph can make a speed record look better without improving reading and typing coordination.

Keep shorthand preparation separate. SPA candidates need the 110 WPM dictation standard and PA candidates need 100 WPM. Reserve time for transcription and the descriptive paper instead of spending all preparation time on Stage-I keyboard speed.

Common mistakes

Common preparation errors include selecting the older Delhi High Court JJA profile, using shorthand passage length as a typing requirement, practising only very short bursts, and reading a practice badge as proof of official qualification. JJA / Restorer is a separate recruitment intent with its own guide.

Do not chase a high gross speed while ignoring missed words or inconsistent spaces. Avoid assuming that backspace, error highlighting or two shorthand attempts apply identically to the typing test. Review the exact stage and post named in each instruction.

Important notes

This guide was checked against pages 6–8 of the linked 2026 vacancy notice on 7 September 2026. Application dates, eligibility, reservations and document requirements must be checked in the complete notice; this page focuses on typing preparation. Later official notices may refine operational details.

The practice bank contains training passages. Unless an individual passage has separately documented evidence, it is not a previous-year official Delhi High Court passage.

Official source and verification

Evidence: Exam-specific practice based on cited requirements.

Delhi High Court SPA and PA Examination 2026 vacancy notice (pages 6–8)

Notification: SPA and PA Examination 2026 vacancy notice. Source date: 2026-09-05. Last verified: 2026-09-07.

Independent practice guidance from TypingTestExam.com; no affiliation with the recruiting authority. Check later notices and your admit-card instructions.

Frequently asked questions

Do SPA and PA have the same typing test requirement?

Yes. The 2026 notice specifies 40 WPM English typing for ten minutes, with mistakes limited to 3% of total words typed, for both posts.

What is different in the shorthand stage?

SPA requires 110 WPM and a 550-word dictation; PA requires 100 WPM and a 500-word dictation. Both use five minutes of dictation and 45 minutes of transcription.

Is the typing stage qualifying?

Yes. Stage I is qualifying; the final merit list uses later-stage marks as described in the notice.

Are two typing attempts guaranteed?

The notice gives two shorthand dictation/transcription tests with the better result considered. This must not be interpreted as two guaranteed typing attempts.

Is backspace officially allowed?

The cited Stage-I scheme does not specify that control. Backspace is a selectable practice setting here; follow the court test instructions.

Is this the Delhi High Court JJA test?

No. JJA / Restorer is a separate recruitment. Use the related JJA guide for that exam.

Related typing guides

Browse typing exam guides · Government exam directory · Delhi High Court JJA / Restorer